top of page
  • Burlington County Democrats

Joe Biden And Kamala Harris Make History

Joseph R. Biden, Jr. was sworn in as the 46th President of the United States by Chief Justice John Roberts. Kamala D. Harris was sworn in, just before, as the first woman and first African-American Vice President.

Associate Justice Sonya Sotomayor administered the oath for Vice President Harris, as she did for then Vice President Biden in 2013.

Later, Vice President Harris swore in three additional Democratic Senators; John Ossoff and Raphael Warnock of Georgia, who were elected via runoffs on Jan. 5, and Alex Padilla, nominated by California Governor Gavin Newsom to fill the vacated seat of Vice President Harris.

With Harris being the tie-breaking vote as President of the Senate, Senator Chuck Schumer of New York is now the Majority Leader, giving Democrats the trifecta in Washington, D.C.

50 views0 comments


bottom of page